iOS 16 will let you not send and edit texts on your iPhone. Here’s how it works

It is not fully out of the query to ship a whole bunch of textual content messages in a day, particularly should you’re half of a giant group dialog. With so many messages going forwards and backwards, you will be anticipated to make a mistake or two.

Often although, this isn’t an issue. The recipient could make minor grammatical errors, and should you ship a message to the improper particular person, you possibly can often observe up with a easy “sorry” and all is effectively. So it isn’t.

Generally a textual content message error can get you in hassle or result in embarrassment, that is why it is best to have the ability to Point out any message and edit what you despatched Which you will lastly have the ability to do with iOS 16.

don’t miss: 5 hidden iOS 16 options and settings you will need to know

Apple introduced these new texting options for the iPhone simply in time WWDC Occasion in June. Different new options coming to iPhone embody New lock display screen customization choices And the Apple Pay Later. SharePlay is added to messages.

We’ll clarify how these two new texting options work. And if you wish to discover iOS 16 now, earlier than the general public launch, right here it’s Learn how to obtain and set up iOS 16 second beta in your iPhone and iPad.

Edit messages you’ve got already despatched

If you happen to use messaging instruments like Slack, you’ve got doubtless edited a minimum of one – or 100 – of the messages you despatched. Whether or not you misspelled or your message incorporates incorrect information, the edit characteristic is a good way to make your corrections shortly. With iOS 16, additionally, you will have the ability to edit your despatched messages out of your iPhone inside quarter-hour of sending.

To edit a textual content message, you will must activate Messages and go to any thread that makes use of iMessage, which you in all probability know by blue textual content. This characteristic won’t work with SMS textual content messages (inexperienced texts). Now, faucet and maintain your finger on the message you want to edit. This may carry up the Tapback Suggestions and Fast Actions menu. Lastly, faucet launch.

Edit a text message on iOS 16

Even should you edit a textual content message, the recipient will nonetheless have the ability to see any outdated messages.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

The textual content message will then be editable. You may delete the whole message, repair any errors, or add extra textual content to it. As soon as completed, Click on the blue examine mark button on the correct aspect to avoid wasting your modifications. You may solely edit one message as much as 5 instances.

An executable editor button will seem under your edited textual content message. The particular person on the opposite finish may even know that the message has been edited, and in the event that they click on on it Editedall earlier variations of your textual content message will seem above the modified textual content message, in gentle grey chat bubbles.

Instantly recall any messages you despatched by mistake

Unintended messages happen very often. Maybe you clicked the submit button whenever you meant to pick an emoji. Or possibly you simply despatched messages to the improper particular person. Both method, you can recall these messages utilizing iOS 16. Apart from the message enhancing characteristic, you solely have 2 minutes to unsend a textual content.

To cancel sending a textual content messagelaunch the Messages app, faucet and maintain the message (blue textual content solely) you need to unsend, then faucet Undo Ship.

The textual content message will disappear out of your dialog thread, by you and the recipient. A message will seem in your thread, stating that your message was not despatched, however the recipient could have already seen it.

Not Sending Text Message on iOS 16

You solely have 2 minutes to unsend a textual content message.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Sadly, if the opposite particular person is working something older than iOS 16, the message won’t really be unsent regardless that your telephone will say so.

The recipient will see a grey textual content standing message that claims, “[Name] Unsend a message” in the event that they’ve already seen the textual content. That is just like the delete message characteristic that apps like WhatsApp and Sign have already got, which additionally show an analogous message after the textual content has been recalled.

When you’re ready for these new options to reach, try what’s new Change to Apple Maps. Additionally, right here Apple’s new MacBook Air.


Now play:
Watch this:

See every part introduced at Apple WWDC 2022


14:37